Toy Industry Celebration in Brussels

7 October, 2022

TIE’s Autumn Celebration was a vibrant and colorful evening bringing together toymakers and the EU community for the first time since the global pandemic. Over 100 people joined the celebration on October 4th at TownHall Europe in the heart of the Brussels EU district.  

Opening the evening, Catherine Van Reeth said the occasion had a double purpose: to reveal and celebrate the winners of our Play for Change Awards and to connect and reconnect with toy industry friends in Brussels. Chairman of TIE Sanjay Luthra spoke of the determination of reputable toy makers to become a force for positive change in our societies, helping children navigate big issues in the best way possible: through play. 

For the main act the evening the announcement of the Play for Change Awards, winners from across Europe came on stage to rejoice in their gold, silver and bronze awards. You can read more about the winners in Sustainability, Diversity & Inclusion and Future Skills here. 

Presenting the winning awards were jury members Dr Martin Porter, Executive Chair, Cambridge Institute Sustainability Leadership, Catherine Naughton, Director of the European Disability Forum, and Dr Amanda Gummer, Founder and CEO, Good Play Guide. They were joined by guest presenters Anouska Plasmeijer, Executive Director, Jane Goodall Institute Belgium, Silvan Agius, Cabinet of European Commissioner Dalli and Tommaso Dalla Vecchia, Development & Advocacy Manager, European Schoolnet. 

It was heartening to hear the impression that the winners and other entrants left on the jury members who encouraged the toy industry to continues its good work. 

Food for thought was provided by author Stefaan Vandist who took the audience on a journey of foresight and sustainability for the toy industry.  

To conclude the celebration, audience members forged new connections and renewed old ones over drinks and food. Everybody left with a bag of toys generously donated by Mattel, the LEGO Group, Schleich and Hasbro and some award winners.  

We’re already looking forward to the next edition!